Saturday, May 21, 2011

Aminatta Forna Wins 2011 Commonwealth Writers’ Prize

The winners of this year's Commonwealth Writers' Prize have been announced and Aminatta Forna has won the Best Book Prize for The Memory of Love.

The judges praised The Memory of Love for its risk taking, elegance and breadth. A poignant story about friendship, betrayal, obsession and second chances – the novel is an immensely powerful portrayal of human resilience. The judges concluded that The Memory of Love delicately delves into the courageous lives of those haunted by the indelible effects of Sierra Leone’s past and yet amid that loss gives us a sense of hope and optimism for their future. Forna has produced a bold, deeply moving and accomplished novel which confirms her place among the most talented writers in literature today.

Craig Cliff won the best first book prize for A Man Melting.

The Memory of Love is also currently on the orange prize shortlist.

Read the announcement here.

Buy the novel here.

What She Thinks: Big ups and congrats to Aminatta Forna.

No comments:

Post a Comment